File Size

This room is designated for designers of all skills and backgrounds to share information, tips, ideas and concepts with each other.
Post Reply
bis4brass
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:56 pm

File Size

Post by bis4brass » Sat Jul 15, 2017 4:26 pm

Has anyone tried using Envision as one .drl file for an entire show? I wonder if this would be too large of a file and if it would cause slowness or other issues.

Sometime making edits across different production files can be difficult and confusing.

William
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:59 pm
Location: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: File Size

Post by William » Mon Jul 17, 2017 5:20 pm

Hi bis4brass,

I haven't personally done this but I have heard reports of people who have. I don't think you'll have any problems with file-size, but you might run into some slow downs, especially when loading, if you have an older computer (5 years+). Anything more recent and you should be ok.

If you do decide to go down this road I'd love to hear your experience with it to see how it works out for you. I'm sure other readers would like to know as well.

Have a great day!
William Lee
-----------------
Director of Product Development
Box5 Software
http://www.box5software.com

bradporeda
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2012 6:38 pm

Re: File Size

Post by bradporeda » Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:32 pm

Bis4Brass,

I do this all the time with no issue of file size or speed issues. Most of my Band Director clients prefer a single set of Charts, DotSheets, and an Animation file. Thus, it makes sense to write the whole show in one file.

Doing it this way enables me to change location of a prop across the whole show, as well as add or subtract a player if I get "the call" from the director that a student has moved-in or quit.

Of note: I like to use GarageBand (or other audio editor) to stitch together all of the show audio mp3 files into 1 continuous mp3 file. I add some space between tunes and a click track if needed. Then I upload it to Envision. Boom! Instant show that I can add all of the sets to, adjust the tempos to match, and then be a able to see the whole show in the timeline. (I don't use the Sync feature)

Good luck,
-Brad
2014 15" MacBook Pro retina, 2.6GHz i7, 16GB

bis4brass
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:56 pm

Re: File Size

Post by bis4brass » Wed Jul 19, 2017 6:27 pm

Thanks for the feedback.

I think I will definitely give this a try.

Interesting way to bypass the sync feature as well.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest